Gencon- Day 3 & 4

Wasn’t running games on Saturday or Sunday, so spent most of the time on the Chaosium booth, interspersed with forays on to the dealer floor. Saturday was busy, very busy. Lots of people around the booth, so I spent a lot of time answering questions about 7th edition, as well as helping people decide on which campaigns / scenarios / supplements to purchase. I really enjoyed talking to both new and old Call of Cthulhu players – probably some of the nicest people around!

photo

Some of the fiction titles on the Chaosium booth

photo copy

A printed out Horror on the Orient Express manuscript on the Chaosium booth – with my scenario!

 

I managed to purchase a few fezzes as presents before all of the Cthulhu ones sold out. I think Fez-o-rama will be back next year! Also picked up a copy of the new Firefly RPG for a friend, as well as a few choice items including Sense of the Sleight of Hand Man dreamlands campaign by Dennis Detwiller from Arc Dream, which had arrived on the stand on Saturday, and also a blow-up tentacle (coz you need one of them… right?)

Went to lunch with the San Detour guys (French Call of Cthulhu licensees), who are a great bunch of people. I was honoured by them showing me a few snippets of new artwork – absolutely lovely stuff.

photo copy 2

The giant balloon Cthulhu!

photo copy 3

Some say that my time on the Chaosium booth was starting to affect me… I just don’t see it… ; 0

 

Sandy Petersen (of Call of Cthulhu fame..!) was at the Chaosium booth all day, running demo games of Cthulhu Wars (which looks fabulous). Unfortunately I didn’t get the chance to play in a game myself, however everyone that did seemed to have a great time. I can’t wait for my copy to arrive… Sandy was on fine form as ever and later that evening we had a combined Cthulhu Wars and Horror on the Orient Express backers dinner at St. Elmo’s steakhouse. Mark Morrison and Penny Love joined us and Sandy for a great evening.

photo copy 6

Me and Sandy…

photo copy 5

Cthulhu Wars and Horror on the Orient Express backer dinner – before the shrimp cocktail massacre!

 

Sunday came around too quickly. Gencon was near its end. I again spent the day on the booth talking to backers and others who wanted to pick up a copy of the 7th ed Quick Start Rules. I managed to find the Game Science booth and stocked up on dice whilst chatting to Lou Zocchi.

photo copy 4

Me, Charlie and Paul

I’d last been at Gencon a few years ago, whilst running Black Industries. I’d had a great time then but this year it was even better. I’m already looking forward to Gencon 2014!

One thought on “Gencon- Day 3 & 4

  1. Pingback: Call of GenCon | Orient Express Writers

Leave a comment